About Alex

Alex maintains a litigation practice focused on administrative law, environmental law, privacy and access to information law, municipal law, regulatory law and commercial law. He routinely deals with disputes involving contracts, insurance, negligence, regulatory compliance, and professional liability. Most of Alex’s clients are public institutions (universities, colleges, municipalities, crown corporations) and private companies engaged in a variety of industry sectors (oil and gas, energy, electricity, aquaculture, fisheries, mining, telecommunications, insurance, construction). He has argued at all levels of court in Newfoundland and Labrador and Canada, including at the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Appeal. He has also argued before numerous boards and quasi-judicial tribunals, including the Newfoundland and Labrador Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities established by the Public Utilities Act, the Eastern Newfoundland Regional Appeal Board established under the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000, and the Standing Fish Price-Setting Panel established under the Fishing Industry Collective Bargaining Act. He also routinely represents clients in processes before the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Newfoundland and Labrador, pursuant to the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 2015.

Alex is a Bencher of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador, a member of the Canadian Bar Association, and a Past-Chair and current member of the Board of Directors of Econext (formerly the Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Industry Association (NEIA)).


  • Bachelor of Laws Degree (LL.B), University of New Brunswick (2006)
  • Bachelor of Arts Degree (Honours) (B.A. (Hons.)), Memorial University of Newfoundland (2003)

Bar Admissions

  • Newfoundland & Labrador (2007)

Appointments & Community Involvement

  • Board of Directors of Econext (formerly Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Industry Association or NEIA), 2021-2023
  • Former Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Industry Association, 2014-2018