About David

David is counsel in our Halifax office who practices primarily in the areas of energy, regulatory and natural resources law, with a particular emphasis on downstream natural gas and electricity projects and proceedings. He appears regularly before various regulatory tribunals, including the National Energy Board, the Nova Scotia Utility and Review Board, and the New Brunswick Energy and Utilities Board. David acts on behalf of gas and electric utilities, independent power producers, industrial energy users and project developers. He has been involved in one manner or another with respect to most of the independent power projects and power plant divestitures/acquisitions in the Maritimes during the last twenty years, including gas-fired co-generation, hydro, biomass and wind power projects.

David has been listed in the Euromoney Guide to the World’s Leading Energy and Natural Resource Lawyers. He has also been identified as being repeatedly recommended as a leading practitioner in the area of electricity law in the Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory, and has been included in the Best Lawyers™  in Canada guide in the areas of energy regulatory law and natural resources law. David was also named Best Lawyers®  2021 and 2020 Energy Law, and Energy & Natural Resources “Lawyer of the Year” in Halifax (2018, 2023).

Awards & Recognitions

  • Repeatedly Recommended by The Canadian Legal Lexpert® Directory for Corporate Commercial Law, Corporate Finance & Securities, Energy (Oil & Gas) Law, Corporate Mid-Market, Mergers & Acquisitions, and Property Development (most recently in 2024)
  • Named Best Lawyers® Energy Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Halifax (2023)
  • Recognized by Best Lawyers® Canada for his practice in Energy Regulatory Law (since 2006), in Natural Resources Law (since 2008), and in Energy Law (since 2016)


  • LL.M., University of Reading (1992)
  • LL.B./M.B.A., Dalhousie University (1988)
  • B.Sc. (Geology, Hons.), Mount Allison University (1984)

Bar Admissions

  • Ontario (1990)
  • England and Wales (1992)
  • Nova Scotia (1994)
  • Newfoundland & Labrador (1997)